top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoan M. Noeldechen

Frank Sinatra Was a Real Person.

I was lucky enough to see Frank Sinatra three times in concert. The first time he was with Sammy Davis, Jr. who was spectacular and Liza Minnelli who was amazing at the Omni in Atlanta. He looked up and saw me in the balcony. I looked back into the bluest eyes I have ever seen. I once again saw him with Frank, Jr. conducting the orchestra. I remember him singing "The Man In The Looking Glass" and "This Is All I Ask." I got very emotional over these. He really invested himself into the songs. The last time I saw him singing outdoors in Chastain Park. When he sang "New York, New York" to us, we sang back to him. He stopped singing to listen to us and he grew emotional at the response. He was very real and close to us. I am so grateful that I could experience him at all. He was so thrilled that we still wanted him. He wasn't ill at that point. I remember writing two poems for him. I knew he wouldn't be with us forever and I realized what a gift we had been given for so many decades. My father had shared the music with me. That is is a very precious legacy to pass on and it is a very personal one. His family misses him and so do we. Thank God he left his work behind. We can introduce young people to his music. Some may be touched by it as we were during his lifetime.


Quincy Jones, Frank Sinatra, Count Basie and his Organization. Early to Mid 1960's.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Screw Up

https://joannoeldechen.wordpress.com/2021/11/08/screw-up/

bottom of page